People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Emotional decisions tend to be erratic and short-sighted. It is therefore logical to assume that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic are poor decision makers. When faced with a conflicting situation, people tend to proffer knee-jerk reactions. This is famously known as the 'Flight or Fight' instinct.

People who tend to justify irrational decisions are susceptible to peril on two fronts. Firstly, such illogical reconciliations are indicative of an unwillingness to acknowledge one's shortcomings. For example, a compulsive shopper who maxes out his/her credit card debts is unlikely to ever come to terms with his demerits, especially if he/she convinced that his actions are logically sound. This could lead to a vicious cycle of poor choices and deleterious consequences.

Secondly, impulsive decisions are often ephemeral. One has to ensure that all stakeholders are consulted before arriving at a conclusive response. Emotional decisions are unlikely to be long standing. Legislatures and town councils that pass bills without due consultation often give rise to a multitude of other issues, thereby exacerbating the problem that they wished to avoid.

On the other hand, justifying poorly thought-out decisions presents a whole new problem. Justification not only affects the decision-maker, but also lacerates those who might have been affected by it in the first place. In addition, there is also the risk of bad rationale being used to inspire similar myopic responses elsewhere. When one's judgment is obscured by a false sense of correctness, he develops a propensity to justify all wrongdoings. In a classic example, a local police chief's decision to enforce stop-and-frisk measures led to a large number of minorities being persecuted needlessly. The reasoning behind this decision, albeit hollow impelled other precincts to follow suit. In the end, the entire county had developed a hostile attitude towards marginalized communities.

The negative impact of having unstable decision makers is quite profound, particularly in the spheres of government and law enforcement. Recently, a major government move to ban high denomination currency notes in order to curtail black market trade and corruption led to large-scale hoarding of newly printed currency notes and a destabilization of the economy. This in turn led to public outrage on the streets, bringing the entire nation to a standstill. Despite these repercussions, the dispensation was unwilling to backtrack on its policies, citing flippant reasons for its move. The probability of such decisions being repeated by other governments is significantly high.

It is therefore amply clear that people who make irrational decisions not just endanger themselves but also the people around them. When poor counsel prevails, such decisions can mutate and proliferate leading to other similar decisions. People who try to ensconce their deficiencies with shallow reasons are more likely to be poor and even harmful decision makers.