All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

It is true that the company employees will have more valuable internal insights than an outsider. However, it is important to note that consulting companies usually have a better idea of how businesses across the globe function as a whole. The consultants are usually involved with various other businesses (both presently and in the past) and have a much deeper idea about the markets and the competition in addition to the overall state of the economics of that particular business section. Their experience and methodological approach in dealing with problems puts them in a far better position to do justice to business strategizing than anyone else in most cases.

It is often a good idea for companies to hire consultants if they don't have a strategy wing of their own. This helps the company in saving the time of their own employees who will be better off creating value for the company instead of brainstorming for strategies. The consultants can, in the mean time, develop and suggest strategies to the company executives who can choose or refute to implement these. Consultants spend a good amount of time in surveying the breadth and the depth as a part of their job which wouldn't have been possible if a company employee is entrusted with a task while they juggle with their business-as-usual task on the side.

Additionally, sometimes a bird's eye view on the company's overall goal is often lost when the employees start focussing on pedantic details. Consultants usually succeed in capturing the broader goals in this case as they are not biased by what is happening on the inside. This bigger picture and top-bottom approach often beats the bottom-up approach when it comes to devising long-term strategies.

This entire argument in the favour of outside consultants, however, only makes sense for larger firms. Business consultancy is, more often than not, associated with a steep price and it only starts making sense economically when the company that is hiring them can afford their solutions and suggestions which can create an impact that is large enough. For companies that function on a smaller scale, bottlenecks are often better identified by their own employees. In larger companies, the same is not possible owing to the scale alone. In the light of this, relying on outside consultants or not becomes a subjective argument.