Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level

The argument states that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former levels by the late-night news program will lead to an increase in viewers and advertising revenue. I disagree with the conclusion drawn by the provided statement.

The argument fails to provide strong evidence that can surely indicate that the decrease in time alloted to weather and local news report is somehow related to the loss of advertising revenue. It is true that some of the viewers were not happy with this change. But that is not related to loss of advertising contracts. There might be external factors involved in the cancelling of the advertising contracts. For example, maybe the economy is in a slowdown and suffering a recession due to which local businesses might have cancelled the contracts to save money or the particular products that were being advertised might not have been receiving the response that the advertisers hoped for, eventually leading them to scrap the contracts. The restoring of the previous time slots can also lead to cancelling of advertising contracts of businesses hoping to have a wider audience than just their locality, since the viewership from other parts of the country will reduce significantly with this change. In today's world of globalisation, where business deals go through just using a phone call or by the use of an online portal, losing a large consumer base will lead to major losses pronmpting the businesses to advertise somewhere else where they can reach these customers.

It can also be argue that the time slots of the news to be presented might have been changed in the first place to appease the complaints of viewers who wanted to know what was going on in the country instead of just their localities. Reversing the change also might lead to a loss of revenue due to more people leaving the viewership than the people joining it. Also, having a long section for weather updates wouldn't make sense since it can be presented in a significantly short amount of time as most people care about the weather in their local region only.

There might also be the case that the competition of broadcasting services in the locality might have increased. Hence, the loss of advertising contracts can be blamed on contracts being offered by other broadcasters who have been offering more profitable terms to local businesses prompting them to cancel their contracts and switch.

Therefore. it can be said that there are several holes in the reasoning behind the conclusion drawn in the argument and more evidence needs to be provided to evaluate whether the decision is right or wrong.