The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

I agree with the statement that the best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people they lead.

A leader is only as good as the team which he ultimately leads. If the team that he is leading is not happy or satisfied him then there is a very small chance of them succeeding in their endeavours. It is the duty of the leader to make sure that the morale within the team is high. Man management is one of the most important job that falls under his purview. It is his duty to ensure that their is no internal dissent within the team members; which will only cause to be a hindrance to their objectives. For a leader to be succesful, the team needs to have far more than just a modicum of trust in him. No person can be omnipresent, therefore without the help of the team itself, the leader is nothing but a glorified paper pusher. To do well in real life, a person is required to consider various approaches to any problem. If more people are involved in the decision making process, it is possible to cover more ground in a quick fashion, with regards to discussing the pros and cons of various courses of action. This also allows the team members to feel that their voices are not disregarded and leads to more productivity and transparency in the decision making process. In the real world, it can be clearly seen that democratic systems, even though they are not without their own cons, are far more popular than autocratic systems.

But it can also be argued that feedback from a lot of people can cause confusion in the mind of the person leadig them, as in a lot of cases, it is quite difficult to reach a consensus within the team itself, which can lead to the formation of factions within the group itself which is not good for the unity of the team. It is not good to take feedback on every single decision as well because it can cause the heirarchical structure of the team to fail. With some of the louder and arrogant members thinking that the the current leader is weak since he can't take a decision without the team backing him. A strong leader would have to take decisions unilaterally which might not be so popular but will ultimately be beneficial for the team.