Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

While the issue at hand might gain a lot of support among the students at universities, it is not practical with respect to the realities of the 21st century. An engineering student might balk at the idea of having to study economics or law, but it is really important for a student to have atleast an elementary understanding of various aspects of different fields to do well on his own in the real world.

In today's world, with the advent of technology and globalization, companies look to hire well rounded individuals instead of people having only a single skill set. There is also the fact that most of the brightest students are more inclined towards creating their own jobs instead of joining a company; after all the prospect of not being answerable to anyone is a very attractive prospect. But starting up a new company is harder than it sounds. A student needs to have knowledge of the market, his targeted customer base, the actual necessity of the product, laws regarding the sale of such items, how to advertise the product, getting sonsorships and so on. Just having an amazing technical product is not enough. For example, let us take a look at the company apple. Steve Wozniak was the actual technical brain behind the products that made apple so succesful, but without Steve Jobs's marketing ability, the company wouldn't have been able to rise to such prominence. Also, it the statement of the issue is implemented, it will make it very difficult to switch their fields later on, the issue is neglecting all those students entering university who are not sure of their predelictions. Students sometimes expect something else while taking up a field but once they enter into it, they face a completely different reality.

Agreeing with the issue is quite easy to do, because an argument can be made that students will get to study subjects that they like which will increase their skills in those particular subjects. Who wouldn't want a country filled with students who are specialists in their niche? Even experts will agree that it will reduce the number of dropouts from university, as a student interested in just journalism doesn't have to study subjects such as advanced math which they won't even use in their jobs.

But, isn't the entire point of education that we have students who are well rounded? If courses only within the fields of their interest are studied by students, then the country as a whole can not prosper. Economists will not understand the jargon of engineers, doctors won't understand the jargon of politicians and so on. Hence, I strongly feel that it is very important for a student to have atleast some basic understanding of what goes in other fields of studies even though it might not be his favorite.