A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

For a nation to be succesful, a national identity needs to be defined. This identity can be inculcated succesfuly only in the formative years of a person. Therefore, having a standard national curriculum will be beneficial at school level.

It can also be argued that, individual cultures that are not closely related but are still a subset of the same nation might be difficult to incorporate in the same curriculum. This might lead to losing of the finer parts of a culture and lead to a student having only superficial knowledge of said culture. For example, let us look at India; the country has more than twenty nationally recognized languages, more than hundred dialects of said languages and can be decribed as an amalgamation of various relegions, races, cultures etc. It is not possible to define a single curriculum that can sufficiently appease the beautiful charecterstics of each of these differing sects. It is said that having partial knowledge on a subject is more dangerous than ignorance.

But, if we ignore languages and social sciences just for a moment, then this idea surely makes sense. Why should a person studying maths and science in different parts of the country have differing syllabus? Subject that deal with hard facts and based on scientific reasoning can be easily subjected to a uniform curriculum. The standardized curriculum will also help colleges for admitting students since they will be able to judge students uniformely based on their performance. This is a major issue for universities during admissions since it is quite difficult to judge two students who have a similar profile and the only parameter based on which they can be segregated is their schooling performance. Having different syllabus means that the scoring criteria also changes and the difficulty of the curriculum also needs to be taken into account which can be a painstaking process. A common curricullum also places each of the students on a uniform pedestal before they begin their college. This ensures that no single student is beginning at a disadvantage.

The issue of social sciences and languages can also be solved by offering a specialization in each subject with respect to the varying criteria be it language, relegion, food culture or something else. This will lead to student being more involved and well versed in their studies since they will choose subjects that truly interest them instead of mugging up facts which they will end up forgetting anyway. Another advantage of common syllabus is that it allows students themselves to introspect on their position amongst their peers which can lead to an early self realization of their strengths and weaknesses.