The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from those they lead.

In everything from businesses to sports teams to politics and beyond, there are a variety of leaders in our world. This position is a vital one, and not one that everyone can fill. Those who lead are expected to have an advanced understanding of a certain subject, idea, etc. of which they are to utilize in order to lead those around them. It is wise for leaders to take feedback, from those that they lead, into consideration in order to evaluate their style of leadership and its effectiveness, as well as what their strengths and weaknesses might be. However, just because one encourages feedback does not ultimately make them a good leader.

Feedback in the form of constructive criticism is generally beneficial for leaders to take note of. Constructive criticism is given with the hope of bettering the leader and furthering the cause, whatever it may be, as a whole. When given the scenario of a basketball team, the coach would be considered the leader of a team of students, imparting knowledge of the game and of sportsmanship to the players. If the players feel that the coaching strategy being used is not successful, maybe the coach is leaving players in to long leading to fatigue and worsened play or he is not utilizing vital players, they should be free to express their concerns to the coach. By receiving feedback from the team, the coach should use this in order to make better decisions that make the team more successful.

On the other hand, some leaders may encourage feedback from those they are leading, but if they do nothing with that information to better themselves or others, the feedback is useless. It is up to the leader to evaluate the feedback they receive and decide what to do with it, whether their actions, leadership style, etc. must be changed for the betterment of everyone involved. For one to think of themselves as better than those they lead or above their advice and feedback could be a harmful mindset. An example of this can be taken from recent politics in which President Trump mocked environmental activist Greta Thunberg. Thunberg has become a voice for environmental action, urging world leaders to do more to combat climate change. As the President, he is supposed to be open to advice from his cohorts as well as the public. Whether one believes the messages she sends about the climate or not, it is important to consider others’ opinions who are offering advice for the betterment of our society, in this case. In ignoring the advice of the activist, the President is not giving her feedback proper consideration, potentially leading to consequences in the future.

Leaders are prevalent in all areas of society. Feedback and constructive criticisms are necessary in order to help leaders lead to their fullest potential and to the benefit of those whom they lead. While it is true that leaders should encourage feedback, this does not automatically make them a good leader. A good leader is determined based on what they do with that feedback, whether they use it to better themselves or they ignore it.