The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this Argument, a business plan from Apex Corporation is revealed in which the company is responding to apparent demands for artisanal coffee. The author assumes a few bits of information in this plan that may or may not be valid. The first assumption of the author is that the new coffee that they are to release, ‘Gourmet Select’, is artisanal. The second is that some increased amount of consumers are wanting artisanal coffee. Lastly, it is assumed that in the initial stages of release of this product that word-of-mouth will be sufficient enough to make adequate sales. If any of these assumptions are incorrect, it could undermine the companies goals of releasing a successful product.

The author of this business plan mentions the word “artisanal” in reference to the specific type of coffee that is desired by coffee enthusiasts. Nowhere is it mentioned what makes a coffee artisanal or how that might be different to any other type or brand of coffee already being sold. Further, there is no mention of whether or not the new ‘Gourmet Select’ is even artisanal, just that it is a new line of coffee. The apparent reason for this company to even be releasing this new coffee is because of the need for artisanal style coffee and there is no support as to whether the new coffee in question even fits in that category. If proved to not be “artisanal”, then the people who are after that coffee will not be more inclined to by the ‘Gourmet Select’ over other brands already on the market.

Another assumption in this plan is that there is increased demand coming from the public for the artisanal coffee. There is no further explanation on who is demanding this coffee, though. Based on the strategy mentioned, introducing it into supermarkets and use of word-of-mouth and then to TV and radio, as well as chain restaurants, assumes that the specific people who want the artisanal coffee frequent the supermarket or chain restaurants or that they listen to the radio and watch TV. The people who want this coffee might do none of the above things and would therefore be unaware of the introduction of ‘Gourmet Select’. There is also no mention of how much of an increase there has been in demand and whether or not it is a significant increase. If the increase was something like a 1% increase, it might not warrant release of a specific type of coffee as it might not make enough sales for those who are interested or aware of the release of this coffee.

Lastly, it is assumed that word of mouth is a strong enough advertising strategy to initially sustain sales of this coffee product. However, this may not necessarily be the case in practice. Say that this coffee was released in a rural area. Neighbors may be miles away from each and not communicate frequently, and if they do, it may not be about the new artisanal coffee that was released recently. If word-of-mouth doesn’t help the company make enough sales, the coffee may not be continued if more money is spent producing than is receives through profits.

The business plan of the Apex Corporation on their intent to release ‘Gourmet Select’ coffee, a new type of artisanal coffee in order to satisfy demands is one full of unsupported assumptions. While potentially all true, it must be clarified whether this companies new brand of coffee is indeed artisanal, who and where the demand for this product are coming from, and whether word-of-mouth is a strong enough advertising strategy for the product’s initial release. If any of these assumptions are incorrect, it could very well mean that the company’s plan may not work and the product may not succeed to the degree foreseen.