The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The entire idea of Apex Corporation does seem to be flawed in some sense . As the corporation hopes a certain outcome from their advertising effort , thus making a major pre-assumption in their strategy. In my opinion, This plan of the Apex Corporation can be improved by taking care of certain assumptions in the present plan .

In order to answer the increased demand of artisan coffee,the Corporate's decision to introduce a new line of coffee may or maynot be accepted by the people as it can also be the situation that the people do prefer a certain type and flavour of the coffee which is already in the market to this newer type of coffee . A current increase in demand for coffee does not ensure the demand for a new type of coffee and certain corresponding quantitative study should be appended through a market survey in order to make such a decision.

After introducing the newer type of coffee in major supermarkets, hoping that a word of mouth will sustain the sales seems to be a hollow decision which should be accompanied by adequate study of such strategies in the past which proved to be successful as well as taking the population response to such schemes in the desired region into consideration will prove to be beneficial .

The decision to run advertising months after introducing this new variety in the market assumes the sustainability of the sales of this coffee in the major supermarkets so that further market share can be occupied with the help of this advertisement which may prove to be the other way round that the coffee some how plummeted in the sales soon after its introduction in the major supermarkets and thus not ensuring enough penetration in the market so as to ensure its availability in the market to the consumers . Even after releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants , the not so good response from the restaurants due to its limited sales which depleted in a little time may effect the sales post release .

As a concluding remark, Accordin to my opinion , the Apex Corporation should reconsider and revise its strategy to introduce a new variety of coffee in order to ensure that such a new variety of coffee is truely the need of the market.