The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

There are a number of ostensible statements and fallacies in the buisness plan proposed by Apex Corporation. Firstly, there is a tacit assumption that consumers purchase artisan coffee from popular supermarkets and restaurants. They should do a detailed consumer survey to check if that is the case. Maybe consumers of artisan coffee prefer to buy their products from local coffee shops and cafes rather than restaurants or supermarkets. Another plausible reason might be that artisan coffee is largely popular among higher income households which don't frequently visit supermarkets.

Secondly, their intial buisness plan is hinged upon the fact that the initial customer reviews in supermarkets will be positive, which will propel the sales higher. They should confirm these findings first and verify if a significant proportion of consumers frequenting supermarkets like their coffee. They could test run their products by giving out free samples in a few major supermarkets to gauge the popularity of their product before going forward with their current plan.

Thirdly, Apex Corporation plans to follow up with running advertising campaigns on television and radio. They are presuming that tha demographic of the television viewers and so on is similar to the demographic which they plan to target with their product. For instance, artisan coffee might be more popular among teenagers and young adults but most people who still regularly use televisions and radios are of an older age demographic. They need to clearly specify their target audience and conduct surveys to verify their assumption before putting the plan in action.

In conclusion, the current business plan seems to have a lot of loopholes and Apex Corporation needs to provide concrete proofs backing their assumptions for it to be considered a viable.