Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

The author here argues that the decline in deer population coinciding with global warming reports is enough evidence to conclude that deer have been unable to follow their customary migration patterns.

Firstly, the author provides no evidence to suggest that these plants are the primary source of nutrition for deer. If there are indeed other alternatives to these plants, the author’s claim that deer migrate in search of these plants will also come under question. If the author were to shed more light on this point and maybe show evidence that recent changes in the climate due to global warming have drastically reduced the flora in this region which is adversely affecting the deer, the argument would be strengthened.

Secondly, there might be other factors at play which are affecting the deer population in such an adverse manner. Evidence suggesting an increased presence of predators on these islands would drastically weaken the author’s argument.

Thirdly, how reliable is the information obtained from local hunters? These hunters might not be experts in identifying changes in age-old migration patterns of deer and might have misidentified crucial details. Also, the hunters might be regularly visiting only a few islands in their vicinity, and the deer may be flocked on some other faraway island leading to a wrong observation that deer population has decreased. Another possibility is that the hunters are trying to cover up their heinous exploitation of these deer by purporting bogus stories about global warming leading to a reduction in the deer population.

In conclusion, more evidence about the plants being the deer’s primary source of food and investigation of the hunters’ claims would strengthen the author’s argument that global warming has affected the deer’s population resulting in their inability to follow their migration patterns.