Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

In today's competetive and fast-paced world, there is always the daunting question posed in front of univerisities; should universities require students to take courses outside their specialization. I would like to argue that, devoting your time only to a particular field is defenitely better to improve your knowledge in your specialized field, but it is essential for students to take courses apart from these to better integrate and contribute in today's multi-faceted world.

It is very important for a student to develop a well-rounded personality and have a diverse knowledge and expertise. Hence, universities should allow students to accent their curriculum with courses different from their field of study. For instance, if an aspiring surgeon were to only study the nuances of his field and never learn about interactnig with humans and how to deal with grief that comes with the death of loved ones (sociology, psychology), they would never be able to properly interact with future patients considering the situation and sensitivity of the matter. If a physics major were to never learn about the history of science and how the efforts of various brilliant minds over the centuries have shaped the world in which we live today, she/he would never be able to make the subject an interesting one for his own future students.

Furthermore, taking up new courses allows many students to discover new interest and proclivities to different fields and gives them a sense of direction in life and new goals to look forward to. Many who disagree with this school of thought make the argment that this leads to unnecessary confusion and wastage of precious time. However, a wide breadth of knowledge is is always benefitial and in mnay circumstances, students make up their mind and completely change their discipline and can go on to have successful careers in their new chosen field.

I would like to conclude by saying that stuying various courses apart from your chosen discipline builds a foundation for an inter-disciplinary knowledge which is essential in the continuously globalizing world.