Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Over the past few decades, technology has been progressing at a mind-boggling pace, which has propelled the human civilization in to the 21st century. Albeit the plethora of problems still plaguing our world, we have never had higher living standards and this could be arguably the "best time to be alive". But in light of recent trends, a very valid question arises; is technology simplifying our lives or actually complicating it more than before? I would contend that technology, although with its own problems, has simplified our lives in the bigger picture.

With the rapid advancements in communication technology, the globe has truly become a smaller place. We hold tools, powerful enough, at the tip of our fingertips which can contact a person in practically any corner of the world. We keep in constant touch with our dear ones and this has becom the new normal. Smartphones have become mainstream in a matter of a couple of decades. However, they come with their own issues. We keep heraing about the younger generation being severely addicted to smartphones. Many people almost feel incapacitated without their samrtphones with them all the time. So many people have had their lives cut short because of being distracted on their phones while driving or crossing the road. It also accounts for a lot of disruptions and inefficiencies in the workplace.

Another invention of the technology has been the social media. It has given a platform to the common individual to freely express their opinions. It is a beautiful amalgamation of people from all walks of life. The juxtaposition of ideas can always be seen on social media and it has done a lot of good. We are always up to date with the important new of the day and social media has promoted a healthy competition among people to come out with the latest and most detailed account of important things going around the globe. However, this has given rise to "citizen journalism". There has been a blatant disregard for verification and accountability, and many have been caught in the crossfire being wrongly aacused or targeted on these platforms. People don't know whose side of the story is the truth and who is purporting bogus facts for selfish gains.

Furthermore, the advancements in technology have created many of today's global crises that were never a concern before. The continuous exploitation of natural resources had led to skyrocketing of greenhouse gases and continuous increase in global temperatures.

In conclusion, technology is a tool, and it is the responsibility of every man and women reaping its benefits to use it in the proper manner. Ever tool has two sides to it and technology is no different. Even though its has its downsides, I feel that technology as a whole has done a lot more good tham bad. However I believe, that only through continued progress in technology can we solve the problems that plague us today. Technology will always continue to bring more peace and simplicity to our lives.