Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

A common question which confronts new leaders is if they should try to understand the past before starting their new journey or let bygones be bygones and single-mindedly work towards their vision for the people they lead. While unnecessarily poring over the past is not advisable, I would like to argue that giving the past its due credit is always benefitial.

Learning about the past can open up a new perspective for a leader. It can provide valuable insight into the decisions taken by his/her predecessors as well as the history of the people he hopes to lead. New leaders are less likely to repeat the same mistakes as those who came before them. If an upcoming political leader were to run in the elections from a certain electorate for the first time, he would most definitely need to learn about the history of the citizens he hopes to win over. Without a meticulous awareness about the past, understanding why those before him couldn't win, he can't hope to win the elections.

Many a times, looking at a past can help you get out of a sticky situation you face in the present. This is especially valid in the field of science. A researcher might make a miraculous breakthrough simply by looking at past data from his failed experiments. Crucial clues can be hidden in many past failures which can prove to be a boon.

However, it is also important that leaders don't unnecessarily keep looking for something that isn't to be found. Instead, moving on and focussing your efforts on future endeavors can give better dividends. For instance, suppose a CEO of a multinational corporation is trying to figure out why the company's productivity has been falling down recently. Incessantly poring over minute details may not give any solution. Instead he should look to other alternatives and try to boost the morale of the employees by giving them an incentive to work harder.

In conclusion, the past should definitely matter to leaders. However, any such retrospection should be within limits, so as to not lose focus of the greater objective.