The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

The Mayor has presented a plan to counteract the traffic congestion on Briggsville, which he believe will also imporve the economy. There are a lot of loopholes in the current plan which need to looked at with more scrutiny to affirm the viability of th plan.

Firstly, the Mayor's proposed subway system will run through the downtown areas where buses are the only form of transportation. However, it isn't mentioned that buses are the major contibuting factor to the traffic congestion. If this proves to be the case, there isno surety that the subway system will ameliorate the current problem.

Secondly, there is no proof provided that people will easily switch to the subway system as their primary mode of transportation. A detailed survey needs to be done to check if there is enough incentive for regular travellers to switch to a subway system.

Also, the high price tag of the project needs to be justified. Other measures could have been taken to improve the traffic, such as, installation of traffic lighs, assigning more traffic police to ensure smooth movement on frequently congested roads, construction of overhead bridges in high-vehicle density zones and so on. People have laready been complaining about the lack of safe and consistent buses. A very obvious alternative would be to improve security on local buses and increase the existing fleet to match the demand. Directly jumping to an extravagant plan shows poor judgment on part of the Mayor.

Furthermore, there is an assumption that motorists spending less time in traffic will lead to an increase in worker productivity. Concrete evidence is needed to back up this ostensible statement. Worker productivity is a function of a plethora of factors like office environment, organizational factors, personnel issues, technical skill and others. There is no reason to believe that ease of transportation is related to any of the above mentioned factors, let alone a factor itself.

In conclusion, the Mayor needs to give a more elaborate list of details, citing his reason for such an extravagant plan, and prove whether the project is indeed as ambitious as he makes it out to be.