Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

The author assumes that the fall in Madagascan shrimp population is linked with the incursion by deep-sea fishermen. There could be a number of other factors at play which are the actual reason and the incursions might be just a coincidence. Other factors which could be at play are epidemic in the shrimp population, global warming and climate changes resulting in inhospitable living environments or an increase in the population of shrimp predators. Also, the author mentions "significant reduction". An exact quantification is required since even a 5-10% reduction could be a "significant" change...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.