The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The author presents his argument, contending that a greater share of its budget needs to be allocated to advertising to increase viewership of their movies. The argument seems unassailable on the surface, but has a lot of loopholes which leaves the reader questioning the conclusion.

Right off the start, it is stated that "fewer" people attended Super Screen-produced movies than last year. Quantification is neede as to how fewer. In different contexts, even a 5-10% drop might be considered substantial or even a figure of 30% may not invoke any concerns. Clarification on this point is necessary.

Next, it is mentioned that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers has actually increased. As outlined in the previous paragraph, the quantification of the increase is vital for the reader to judge the argument and concur with the author.

Also, the author implicitly assumes that better reviews should equate to more viewers. This might not be the case. The cast and director of the movie, and their popularity amongst movieviewers have a very important role to play. Hence, a plausible explanation might be that most people might not be interested enough to watch a movie which doesn't feature their favourite actors and actresses despite positive reviews. Furthermore, the reviewers of the movie might not be the same as movie-goers. Many of the regular movie -viewers might not pay much attention to the opinions of proffesional critics. If it is so, the argument is reduced to being fallacious.

Another issue might be that the movies produce in the last year are more appealling to a certain age demographic. For example a younger audience might not appreciate a classic western style movie as an older audience. This might have led to losing a sizable chunk of a particular demographic which used to regularly watch Super Screen movies until last year. The author needs to elaborate on the "prospective viewers" and show that the movies produced were targeted at a sizable proportion of their older fan base, else the argument is defeated.

In addition, if Super Screen movies had a monopoly on the industry until last year and this year has seen the competition increase a lot more, it might explain all the points established in the argument. If it is so, no amount of advertisng will make their viewership climb as high as last year and they should reassess wether their company's movies actually performed as bad as they think it did.

In conclusion, their are several implicit assumptions which make the stated argument obstinate. Earlier paragraphs state possible explanations, but the author needs to elaborate on the points content previously for the reader to concur with the conclusion.