Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

The argument is flawed for a number of reasons. Firstly, it makes an unwarranted claim that dep-sea fishermen are the sole culprit for the reduction in the species population.

In our world a reduction in the population of a species may occur for various reasons. In this argument it is stated that deep-sea fishermen are the cause of significant reduction in the shrimp population but against this point no proof is placed. It may happen that a bacterial infection has spread among the secies of shrimp and the disease has become epidemic and the shrimp population are not resistant to this bacterial threat and are dying in large number. It may also happen that the food on which the shrimp poplation live has become scare and becasue of this shrimp population are reducing. However, it is also possible that the shrimp poulation are now competing with a new species in their teritory for food and hence are suffering. Had the argument placed a proof about the claim that the deep-sea fishermen are the real casue of this reduction of shrimp population and all others factors on which shrimp ouplation are unchanged, only then we can accept the claim.

However, if the argument explicitly provides evidence about the claim it makes about the culpability of the fishermen, even then the argument needs to clear its point about the term significant reduction. For example, if the rate at which the shrimp populationn is reducing is massive but it is not so threatening because of the large number of shrimp population at that place. Had the argument discussed about the present population and the rate at which population is decreasing at that time the argument would have been more valid.

Again the argument assumes that the production rate is not going to compensate the reduction and the shrimp species is going to be endangered species. But it may happen that the environment in which the shrimp species lives will become more conducive for their living-the food supply may increase, the temperature may become more convenient as well as the salinity of water and these favorable facts will increasea the mating and production rate which is much greater than the argument predicts resulting an increase the shirmp population.

The argument makes some unwarranted assumption and hence not valid.