Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on a vague study-the details of which is not presented.

The result of a study may vary due to a variation of subject matter. This argument is completely based on the study result but the details of the subject matter is not presented. It may happen that the study was conducted on people who not only drinks green tea but also drink coffee of several cups in a given day. It is possible that the symptoms they are showing is due to the caffeine of coffee. However, it may also be possible that the subjects on which the study was conducted were sensitive to caffeine and hence a little dose of caffeine caused harm to them. Had the argument clearly explained about the age and physical condition of the subject matter and ensured us that they consumed only green tea in a given day only that time the argument would become valid.

The argument makes an unwarranted statement that two cup of green tea is safe for all. However, susceptibility to caffeine is not equal for all. It may happen that a person having resistance to caffeine may even drink ten cups but does not show up any side effect. Meanwhile, a person having susceptibility to caffeine may feel ill after taking a cup of green tea. Even, the food habit for older people and food habit for younger people differ a great amount. A child may drink as many cup of tea it may want but for an old person even two cups are burdensome. So drinking limit of green tea is not equal for all and the argument has to explain this fact.

The argument is flawed because it is based on a vague study and it states a generalized driniking limit of green tea for all people, not valid.