Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In 21st century, Green Tea has longed been hailed as the best substitute for green tea. Some studies have recently shown that intake of more than 2 cups of green tea a day is harmful in the long run, and it is difficult to refute it, but certain facts are needed to be considered for it to hold true.

The fact that green tea contains moderate amount of caffeine is inconstant on two accounts: first, any form of tea comprises of some sort of caffeine. It implies that no form of tea is quite immune from the effects of caffeine. And second is the green tea manufacturer which was used in the study. This study does not take into account different manufacturers does produce green tea in a different way i.e. how will they taste, how is their fragrance and many more.

Even if green tea does contain moderate amounts of caffeine, it does have advantage over traditional tea. That includes being an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and mainly immune-system boosting. This does help in promoting the switch from traditional tea, which the passage is lacking.

And if all above facts are considered, the most important fact is totally forgotten, and that is the diet which is consumed by a normal person. The long-term study has solely focused on the effects on green tea and not the effect of whole diet taken alongside it. Different diets will have different effects, no matter what the situation. So the fact presented that green tea should be limited to same amount that we consume a traditional tea is a bit misleading.

The author has righteously expressed their concern over the consumption of green tea as too much consumption of anything will cause some sort of harm. But they have not taken into account many external factors that should have been as a prerequisite for the study. So, I would suggest a deeper analysis of the above study is required, as such bold statements could cause people like us harm in the long run.