Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The memorandum stating that less time to weather and local news is being devoted shows that the television station is caring about their viewers, but the amount of concern shown is much more than it should be for some facts that are somewhat trivial and easy to solve.

The first things stated by business manager's memorandum is the amount of complaints received regarding their coverage of weather and local news. There are two anomalies in it. First, it is not stated whether complaints regarding local news are more or regarding the weather news. This needs to be clearly stated as it would help the news station pinpoint what the root if concern is. And second is the total number of complaints per viewership in the late night. If the ratio of total complaints to the viewership is less, then there is less need to be concerned and vice-versa. The facts about the complaints are needed to be stated comprehensively.

Now, the cancellation of advertisements by local businesses can also be for a different reason. It could be because the ads are shown during day time news, when the viewership is very low compared to the night time. Also, it could be because of the duration of the advertisement, which was shorter than the duration which was agreed on by the news channel. Due to the above and many other reasons, the business was not drawing much profit than it thought it would from the advertisement. That is why they could have withdrawn, as in the end a business need to generate more revenue than the cost of operation.

And finally, the business manager from the news channel has not accounting for who is the viewership in the late-night news. The upcoming youth tends to prefer the national views, whose numbers are increasing day-by-day and could bring about the viewership boost needed by the news channel, if they continue to tread along the same path.

So, the concern for the news channel for the complaints is overzealous and should be acted upon. As for the concern regarding the advertisements, the news channel need to incorporate some new strategies in order to account for the dwindling number of local advertisers on their channel.