Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguement aims at empasizing that deep-sea fisherman are responsible in depletion of population of Madagascan shrimp. Although there is some validity to the arguement, it has some amiguity in regards to presenting it's point.

Firstly, the arguement states that even in breading season, the shrimp growth would not be enough to reach to it's previous levels of population. But this has not been backed by any sort of evidence or facts in the above arguement. In order to prove the validity of this point, the arguement needs to present some valid facts about the past growth rate in population of shrimp, along with conditions which actually favour them. Otherwise, it is just another statement that is just being assumed.

Again, the arguement assumes that the trend of decline in population of shrimp will continue for next several years. In order to set a trend, a cornucopia of data and statistics are required, along with rigorous study of these patterns in order to set a pattern. And as stated above, there has been only a recent incursions by deep-sea fisherman. So, it can easily be said that the arguement is quite flawed as they have set a trend either based on less amount or faulty data.

And finally, the arguement does not mention adverse effects of deep-sea fishing done by fisherman in those areas. It could very well be plausible that the fisherman does not hunt for shrimp, but for only a certain sort of dish. Even so, there is a likely chance that the shrimp's population is declining from past years and has nothing to do with the fisherman's existance in those areas. Or it could be that the current atmospherical change such as global warming are responsible for shrimp's declinig population. It could be one or any one of them.

The arguement does make out several valid points, but they are not backed up by any information or any previous studies done in the region. In order to provide a more rigorous arguement, it should be backed up by data, studies and other oddities which could strengthen it even further.