The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

To reduce the sidewalk rage amongst the pedestrians, a ban on use of cell phones has been imposed on them. Although it has turned out to reduce the number of complaints to almost negligible, it is not enough to curb out this issue in the long run as it has not addressed the major issues for the pedestrians themselves.

One of the highlighting issue of sidewalk rage is caused due to assaults. Although the ban of cell phones would keep the pedestrians alert, but the major issue is still there: people who plan out these assaults. They generally tend to pick up their targets by observing their actions, and probably taking into account when the pedestians are least attentive, which almost eliminates the factor whether the pedestrian is using. their smartphone or not.

Another major issue is property damage, which is usually caused by numerous other factors such as public works, vandalizers, inattentive pedestrians and sometimes even assaulters. This accounts a very small percentage of people who were using cell phones at the time of damage caused as damage to public property is usually a. collective effort rather than an individual one.

Now, it is agreeable that usual bumps to other pedestrians is a major issue caused by cell phone users, but as for vulnerability of children pon sidewalks is concerned, it is also caused majorly either by negligence of their guardians or by playfulness or naughtiness of children, which cannot be accounted for. These kind of factors, even if taken in mind comes out as an exception mostly.

Ban of use of smartphones on sidewalks ny Middletown is an effective step towards reducing sidewalk rage of pedestrians, but alone, it might not serve for pedestrians in the long run. So, other effective steps must be taken in accordance with this one, so that the root of the problem could be dealt with effectively.