The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidew

At first sight, the author's claim that banning cell phone usage on sidewalks can address the problem of 'sidewalk rage' seems persuasive, after analyzing this passage closely, it will betray several logical flaws and fallacious assumptions and therefore the argument made in the passage is somewhat weakened and not as convincing as it seems. One must critically and objectively analyze data and proof which support their claims.

First of all, the author fails to present a statistical correlation between cell phone usage on sidewalks and so-called 'sidewalk rage'. Without any statistics, we can not simply ascribe the problem of 'sidewalk rage' to cell phones. True, texting or talking on the phone while walking on sidewalks may impede the flow of pedestrian traffic, but there could be other causes for the problem. For example, there might be an increase in poor people in the city, resulting in a higher incidence of sidewalk crimes. The city council can do a thorough investigation of substantiating the relationship between cell phone usage and 'sidewalk rage' to corroborate their claim.

Secondly, the claim cites an example of another city insisting that banning cell phone usage in Middletown has contributed to a decrease in complaints as well as a significant drop in sidewalk crime rate. However, this claim is not taking manifold differences between cities, such as population, density, poverty rate, crime rate, ethnicity into account. All of these diversities could have a different impact on the 'sidewalk rage', therefore simply imitating other cities' policy and blindly incorporating them can not always bring promising results.

Thirdly, the passage provided no scientific proof or data when arguing that children are especially vulnerable to cellphone usage because they are hard to discern. This claim can be easily refuted by the fact that people often look down if they are using phones when walking, thus children are not as susceptible. In order for the argument to bolster his or her claim, a series of scientific experiments should be conducted to verify if people cannot notice short things when they are using their cellphones and walking at the same time.

Finally, to recapitulate my idea, this passage seems cogent at first glance, however, lack of scientific evidence and statistic data detract from the persuasiveness of the claim for the aforementioned reasons.