The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

I completely disagree with the given arguments as it does not clearly specify what could be the major reason for such accidents or rages among pedestrians or drivers.

The given argument specifies multiple reasons for side walkers rage or disruptions of pedestrian traffic but does not explicitly mentions about the count of assaults, property damages or accidents. It might be possible that not all the causes are associated to pedestrians, vehicle drivers may also have some contributions to it. Either ways, council cannot be dependent only on a petition which does not provide any clear idea of what exactly is the cause or effect.

Moreover city of Centerville might be having more population of pedestrian traffic as compared to Middletown. Maybe people would be peripatetic in Centerville as compared to Middletown. Even the size of road walks must have been widened after Middletown passed the ban regarding the traffic or rages. This sums up to that if Middletown passes a ban doesn't mean that the same effects might be observed with respect to rages or traffic in Centerville.

Although above argument might also be an indication for people to avoid using cellphones while travelling by vehicle or when walking, which might be one of the reason for traffic or accidents. Instead of ban on such activities, citizens must be educated about the effects of such practices and how they could improve the current situation.

Since Middletown applied a ban on such activities, the argument does not approximately specify the percentage decline in traffic or accidents. Maybe even before the ban was applied, Middletown had less number of accidents or had lower traffic as compared to current situations in Centerville. Also sidewalks can be made much more efficient and faster moving if they are more widened as compared to the one's present now.

The given arguments just displays assumed causes and effects instead of actual situations being depicted. Council must evaluate all the conditions present in Centerville and must barely take Middletown into consideration while pasting any kind of ban on such activities. As far as argument is concerned, I completely disagree with the petition and a more clearer view is required to strengthen it.