Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In current times, living in a different country is not a foreign concept. While it may not be new to those people, the idea to speak another language in that country is an entirely different issues. There are several barrier for a person when they speak a foreign language in a foreign region.

A major issue that lies when speaking a foreign language is obviously, the vocabulary of that language. A person would like to say the correct words at the correct time. Otherwise, it could cause a severe misunderstanding on both the speaker and listener's accounts. Consider a person has recently moved to a new country. He likes to have a coffee everyday from a cafe. They actually found a nearby shop which serves really good coffee. Unfortunately, all the people working over there are native speakers and does not understand any other language. In order to just tell the staff of the cafe that he wants to have a coffee would be as difficult as toppling a mammoth from it's feet.

Even if a person posses a proper vocabulary of a language, the main problem in learning a language is not the words themselves, but the ability to address those words along with different expressions. An entire sentence can give an entirely different meaning to a sentence if different expressions are used. Most commonly, different countries could have different accents for a same language. Practices like these are often used by the natives in order to express themseleves in a way they want to. If it's not expressed properly, then the person listening could either end up misunderstanding the intent. This could cause certain social problems amongst the people. Oftentimes it could alienate their colleagues either at work or their neighbours. And it could potentially be widespreaded to an entire society.

From the above instances, it can be clearly inferred that living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems in a person's day to day lives, from going for a coffee run to just having a casual conversation with someone.