A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The above study aims at providing some. facts which reveal that people living in Nepal, who does not have luxuries like dental care, have much lower levels of tooth decay than the ones who have in the United States. This stated facts, although gives us an insight, but with some facts being ignored.

The main factor concerning tooth decay is eating the material that reacts with the calcium of our tooth to produce decay on them. This study does not take into contrast the diet that is being consumed by both people in Himalayan region in Nepal and in the United States. If taken in stark contrast, people in United States are likely to have more consumption of the food items such as candies and aerated drinks, that would increase the tooth decay.

Atmosphere also takes a mild part in rate of tooth decay. The people living in polluted, dense and crowded suburban regions of United States would have chance of catching a tooth decay than the people living in clean, fresh and sparse areas of Himalayan regions of Nepal. As the suburbs tend to have more outbreak of contagious diseases, this could also led to some level of outbreak of some compound that could cause tooth decay, which is less likely to happen in the foothills of Himalayas in Nepal.

But the most important part not taken into consideration is how both kind of people take care of teeth. There is a higher chance that people in suburban regions of the United States would neglect to take care of their diligently due to their busy schedule or negligence. And to top that of, people in Himalayan regions tend to use actual herbs beneficial for our teeth and gums that are gardened at their foothills than the artificial substance like toothpaste, which is mostly consumed by suburban people.

The fact that the study aims to reduce the people to go to dentist for dental care is a noticeable point made, but it tends to fall flat on the very account it aims to deliver on. Regular dental care will not be needed only when we tend to give some due consideration in order to maintain our healthy teeth and gums. Else, the premise definitely falls flat.