Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In recent time, paleo diets are becoming increasingly popular due to the several advantages it provides, as shown by several anecdotal evidence. Although there are many intriguing facts given by the arguement, there are a few fallacies we need to consider.

Proponets assumed the fact that Paleo diets had brought about an evolution in our ancestors, so inadverdently, it would also bring about a benign change in our bodies. But they do not take into consideration that our current body composition, our environment and our way of living is very different than our ancestors. For this fact to hold, the proponents need to do have evidence for benign effect on the current generation.

Secondly, the anecdotal evidence does prove that there is a less chance of a person to get sick if they have a paleo diet. But the assumption that has been led from this is completely wrong. Ancient humans might have known something more than our current physiology, but it is again, a might. The fact that ancient humans incorporated this diet because there could be less irrigation and farming in those time, the culture could be different from now, and many other things. It is again, a "could be".

Lastly, skeptics may be pointing out at somthing meaningful i.e. the paleo diets cannot replinish cartilage in a person's knees and elbows, and thereby not providing with anything meaningful. In the arguement, opposition stance talks about less metabolic and inflammatory disease, but does not fully counter the opposition's stance. In fact, it tries to divert it's stance to other advantages of paleo diet. No matter how much you stress out about other advantages of anything, ultimately, if you are not solving the root problem, that is still not a solution.

So, in my opinion, the arguement needs to strengthen up their stance by providing solid facts against the above issues, and provide a meticulous data, which is not just based on an early pretense.