Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Discussion controversial topics with those having contrasting views could be a messy situation as there is a likelihood of them rejecting your thought process. But to make that a premeditated notion should not become our second nature. Let's take a look at that.

While discussing a controversial view with someone of opposing view, there is a likely chance that you might discover some insights or facts that you might not have known of. A semi-transparent truth could turn out to be as harmful as a lie. Let's take the topic of electric cars now. Many people argue that these cars are great for environment due to their zero emmisions. But, these people does not bring into their view that the lead used to make batteries of these cars is almost as damaging to earth as that of burning of fossil feuls.

While having a discussion about a controversial topic with a person of different view, then and only then there is a likely chance of rebutting the entire thought process by explaining them the fallasy of their idea and thought process behind it. Our legal system of courts is prime example of it. Only with an arguement of defense and the prosecution and a rigorous example of rebuttal of evidence, hearing several testimonies and examining the opposing point of view can a verdict be reached. Otherwise, if the opposing stance is not corrected, then our judicial system would at been at an impasse right now.

And coming at the point of making final decision, by discussing, and only by discussing both sides of a controversial topic can a staunch decision can be made. Only by discussing these opposing views can we figure out the ideas that hold true so that the controversial view be converted to a decision. From a family deciding on where to go to a holiday and everyone have a different spot to the governing body that make decisions for the entire country, there is a need to have a discussion with someone having a controversial views in order to facilitate the decision making.

In all the above stated examples, there is a likelihood that discussion with someone over a controversial view can be really difficult, but only by means of discussing can we cool down the controversial view, just like a tea needs to be poured into the saucer to be cooled down. There is a likelihood that it might fall, but most likely the remaining tea will become cool after some time.