The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business plan presented by Apex Corporation aims making of their new line of coffee "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the market with some thought out marketing plan for it. Although the plan seems to be reasonable, these plans have some flaws that might ultimately hinder their plans.

Firstly, the plan did not specify which product is in the increased demand by the customers. Apex Corporation might have various lines of coffee, and there is demand for only a specific type of coffee, or even a range of coffees or even all of their coffee range. If we look all the above points from the business standpoint, it would make sense to continue their existing line of coffee as it has already been subsidized by the company and would potentially reap out more profit than launching a new product.

Also, the report does not answer any quantitative and qualitative questions about the new range of coffee. The report failed to mention the contents of coffee, how the product is better than any previous product and most importantly, how does it answer the current increased demand for the coffee. Not only that, does the new product meet the quality standards that is expected by the customer and the industry. All the above questions are actually general customer questions and needs to be answered in order to make the product likely to be a success.

And finally, the business plan is largly dependent on the word-to-mouth sales from various major supermarkets they want to launch it in. The plan is already assuming the soft launch of their product in supermarkets to be successful and has made future plans dependent on that success only. And in business, there is a significant chance of a product to fail, no matter how good it is. So, the plan must include secondary plans if the major plan fails, so that they can move further with advertising.

As we know, launching a new product is very volatile in any market. For a product to be successful, there is a need of thorough market research, different soft launch plans and understanding the actual demand of the market, which Apex Corporation need to provide with business plan in order to showcase the potential success of their new line of coffee, "Gourment Select".