A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The recommendation to change to a single curriculum in all of the schools is at one hand ambitious and jingoistic, but on the other brings about certain drawbacks that has been avoided by a diverse curriculum in the past.

The first challenge faced by any curriculum is what are the necessary subjects that are needed to be taught in order to get full understanding of that field. In a same curriculum, all the field will be needed to cover in the entire curriculum. This would make it diverse, but would inadvertently create a hodgepodge of all the subjects together. That is why in the first place, the entire curriculum was divided.

Even though a curriculum this diverse is created by some intellects, it needs to be conveyed by someone i.e. a teacher. In a unified curriculum nationwide, most of the teachers will either have to adapt to the new subjects which are added to an already mind boggling curriculum, or they have to change their entire line of study in order to teach students more effectively. This would ineffectively alienate the teachers from their line of teaching, and possibly bury their entire motivation.

But most of the casualties will be of those students for which this entire curriculum was meant to be. Students before college usually choose their field of study in senior secondary school (or high school in many other countries) in order to choose their career. But a common curriculum would in fact force them to learn about all the different subjects and line of study which they were not interested in. And the curriculum requires them to learn all of those things in order to make their knowledge even more diverse. This would eventually create a deadlock in between the student and the curriculum.

So, in the end, I would venerate the idea of creating same national curriculum before the college, but the choice to choose the field of study by a student was introduced in school in order to develop a student's mindset for the college. In order to diversify the curriculum, certain measures like mandatory subjects can be kept amongst all the field which can bridge the gap between different line of study, rather than changing the entire curriculum, if not needed at all.