More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In current times, it has become more and more common that companies had allowed their employees to work from home or a remote location, rather than going into an office each and every day of the week. This aspect, although looks promising carries with it some pitfalls.

There are several advantages that comes with this policy. Usually, when it comes to the job that allows working from home, there is a minimum requirement of infrastructure to accomodate the requirements of that job. Considering that most people have their work driven by data, all they need is a laptop and a good internet connection in order to do their job properly. This would also mean that the company would need less dedicated infrastructure in offices, thereby working as a cost-cutting measure.

If you look at it from the employees's perspective, it is also benificial for them in many ways. Firstly, the employee is spending less time and resources in their commute to the office. Then, there is a sense of ease in their mind when they are working from home. They can do their work while enjoying the leisures of staying at home. And not only that, when employee choose to work from home, it can also act as a way to rejuvinate their mind from their daily peril for work.

As said earlier, there are some cons that comes with pros of this policy. Usaully a person decides to work fromm home due to their laziness to go to work. This in turn could lead to less engagement in their work than the usual. Also, there is a less likely chance for employers to keep in check their employees as the contact is mostly virtual.

Even though there are some disadvantages of this policy, due to the current advancements in technology, these loopholes are being filled making work from home almost similar to that of working in the office. And hence, the advantages still outweigh the disadvantages by a considerable margin.