More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

The idea that, more companies should allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day has been an ongoing debate since the last decade and the the current Covid-19 pandemic has only made the case stronger for the proposition. So, I believe that work-from-home is the new norm that must be adopted.

I would like to present a couple of valid reasons to support my stance. Firstly, allowing employees to operate remotely is beneficial for any company. This method ensures dramatically increases savings and as a result there are massive reduction in office expanses electricity bill, telephone lines, Wi-Fi, AC services amongst many others. Also the money saved can be utilized to provide salary hikes, incentives, bonuses to the workers, who would not feel burdened. For example the boss gives a bonus to all the department boys before the festive season. This move can consequently raise the productivity of the employees and there would be less cases of downsizing in the unit.

Secondly, to stay at home and work is beneficial for employees who can plan their work schedules as per their lifestyle. For example , in a startup some guys of marketing team are night owls who send their presentations in the wee hours of the day which will be reviewed in the morning by their leader who is an early-riser. Thus, a certain degree of flexibility is allowed. They can schedule a discussion in evening. Also the employed people who would not have to face the difficulty to balance life between work , and can adequately take out quality time to spend with their families.

It is also imperative to mention that offices indirectly support the lives of many unorganized labourers. For, example in front of an office or a factory lies the food station, a tea stall and a cigarette joint. All these people's lives are directly related to the office's functioning. In case of an office shutdown these men don't get their means to run their lives.

So, in conclusion I want to rest my case saying that in these unprecedented times of the coronavirus pandemic where meeting people, working together is an ordeal and where economies are hit terribly hard it has become inevitable to work away from offices in the comfort of houses even if that means killing off the livelihood of a few men.