Some people say history is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There has been an ongoing data whether to give history or science the precedence in school subjects. Both of them are valuable in their own right, having their own merits as well as demerits at the same time. Let us look at it more closely.

For the people who cherish history, it has been a symbolic part of their heritage. It provide them with an avid view of the vast society of which we are a part. To them, it is what defines them. For various countries such as United States of America, World War 2 was the time when it ended the war when it dropped nuclear bomb on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. In the process, not only that war ended but subverted America as the most dominant nation in the entire world. The Americans thrives on that glory, which makes them proud each time they remember.

On the other hand, the motivation behind the people who believes that science and technology are more important than history is the advancement of mankind. Since the time Nikola Tesla discovered electricity, the world has done nothing but look forward. Most of the developments that we have seen in the past century, from Einstein's theory of relativity to Kirchoff developing an electricity law which would shape the entire power grids, science has been at the forefront of it all. Even the nuclear bombs discussed above, which are an important part of history were developed due to key innovations in the field of science.

But, if you look at it closely, both things go hand in hand. As stated above, science has been an integral part of our history. Also, if certain historians would not have noted or memoirs of famous scientists would have been lost, people like us would have never learned about science and technology as a term, let alone these discoveries. If the Vatican would not have saved Galileo's diagramma, we might still be thinking the earth is flat and all celestial bodies revolve around the earth. So, it would be fair to say that both the curriculims are important in their own right, only if the appropriate content is taught in both the fields.