Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The passage concludes by implying that Madagascan shrimp will quickly become endangered species with the incursions by deep-sea fisherman into Madagascan shrimps habitat. However, the conclusion drawn is predicated on false assumptions and is insufficiently supported to substantiate. In order to evaluate the argument properly, more evidences are required.

Firstly, the author mentions that deep incursions by deep-sea fisherman into Madagascan shrimps habitat has led to significant reduction in the shrimps population. There is no evidence on the existing population of the Madagascan shrimps in the habitat. Also, the evidence on the number of incursions by the fishermen into the habitat is not provided. If the number of shrimps in the habitat is lesser than that is considered, and perhaps the habitat has fallen prey to not fishermen, but to the other predators in the deep-sea having close surrounding to the shrimps habitat. This particular evidence if not otherwise, weakens the argument of the passage. Without specific evidences on the current population and the other factors influencing the cause of reduction in the species population, the author's argument cannot be properly evaluated.

Moreover, the passage also mentions that, with the breeding season approaching, the number of shrimp should begin to increase. However, the breeding season of the shrimps is not known, with that the passage also doesn't mention about the season when deep-sea fishermen are likely to set sail for predation. If these two season's were completely unrelated to each other, the argument is weakened if not otherwise. Without necessary information on the time period of shrimps breeding, which leads to growth in population, and fishermen's incursion, the author's conclusion, intimately finding the incursions by fishermen as a reason leading to reduction in shrimps habitat, fails to accord in evaluating the argument.

Additionally, the passage also correlates that population, if returned to higher levels than previous levels, which is also not stated in the passage, before the fishing boats arrive, will see the rise in reduction of its habitat, as such a trend is expected to grow over the next several years. Nevertheless, without having enough evidence to back the claim, the passage again asserts on assumptions. With no figures on the number of fishermen or boats inhabiting the shrimps habitat and also the approximation the shrimp population after the breeding season, which increases its population, the author's claim that fishermen are the sole cause for the endangerment of Madagascan shrimps is apocryphal. Therefore, in order to evaluate the author's remark in the passage correlating the fishermen's deeds with endangering shrimps, cannot be properly evaluated.