According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation by the author that all college and universities should adopt honor code similar is Groveton’s to reduce cheating among students is predicated on flawed assumptions and is insufficiently supported. In order to evaluate the author’s remark on his observation, more evidences are required.

The author begins by mentioning how Groveton college, by adopting an honor code, successfully reduced student cheating, and in the first year, students reported 21 cases of cheating and it eventually dropped to 14 in 5 years. However, there no significant evidence as to what caused the drop. Did students report the correct number of cases of cheating? Perhaps, they stopped reporting many cases because some of them eventually became part of cheating. Therefore, the number of cases in 5 years went down as only few of them remained loyal to the code. Perhaps, did this lead to even more cheating in the 5 years that remained unnoticed and unreported? We sure cannot rely on students’ faithfulness in reporting the cases as per this piece of information suggests.

Moreover, the teachers also closely monitored students under the system and reported average of 30 cases per year. The author doesn’t clearly mention the year the Groveton implemented this scheme. If this scheme was implemented recently, it does not providently support as average number taken for 2 years will seemingly suggest that there was not much drop in the cases, but when the average is taken for more than 10 years, it implies the number of cases to be decreasing per year, thereby clearly suggesting how successful the implementation was and also strengthening the author’s argument.

Additionally, the author states that in a recent survey majority of students said they would less likely to cheat with honor code. This statement is just being reliable on students’ choice of words. As deduced in the previous paragraph, perhaps students found fault and loop holes in the honor code system and therefore seemed to most likely favour the system rather than refuting it because it became easy to cheat with the system in place. How do we know what majority of students surveyed said they are less likely to cheat with honor code in place? There is no mention how many students enrolled into Groveton college per year. These are some questions which are needed to be answered without which the conclusion has less validity with less accurate supporting statements.

While, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students only if the latter has enough provident information and evidences to back its claim. With the answers to the additional questions as discussed in previous paragraphs, the argument can be properly evaluated.