Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is quite a well known statement "You need to stop living in the past and start living in the present". But just going along with this statement, it does not mean we should not undertstand the past and completely ignore it.

For a leader, in order to make a decision, whether trifle or grand, they need to access the future requirements of that decision. And that cannot be done by taking a shot in the dark. Rather, a leader needs to look into the past in order to evaluate the decision. They do require a certain degree of information in order to access, evaluate and then implement the decision. And that can be done with some concrete information, which can be gathered only from past occurings.

Not only that, a newly leader does need to evaluate their predecessor's past so that they can implement effective decisions. From a leader of a small union to the president of a company, a leader must keep in mind his predecessor's garlands and their missteps so that they do not repeat that mistake again. If not kept in mind and if those mistakes are made again, their leadership is bound to last a short-term.

And finally, in order to understand their current role of leadership, they do need to take into consideration the history accounted for that particular institution. They thoroughly need to access the history associated with the people, their past culture and behaviour in order to rectify or encourage it, whatever is suitable in that case. Just take an example of Apple. The CEO's after Steve Jobs were never able to capitalize the market from their products because they did not understand the mindset and thought process that goes behind those products. Only when Jobs came back the company did a 360, as he brought back the mindset needed to run that company.

For any leader, they do need to make effective decisions for the future of their institution. But, as the other instances states, there is a need to fully understand the past. So, the leader must think for the present and future of their institutions, but keeping in mind the past rather than disregarding it.