Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that green tea has some health benefits and people should consume it on a regular basis. It also tells us that based on long term research, we should limit the consumption of green tea to no more than two cups a day due to the health effects excessive caffeine can have which is present in moderate amounts in green tea. The argument is true about the health effects of consuming excessive caffeine but lacks sufficient evidence to posit that reducing green tea intake can evade caffeine-related issues.

The prompt mentions a long term study to draw its conclusion. But we don't know how detailed the study conducted was or the number and the type of people that were being studied. It also states that people who drink more than three cups of tea a day are 'likely' to have caffeine-related symptoms. This is based on an assumption and doesn't mention a definitive result of the study. The argument's conclusion can be weakened if the people being studied also drank coffee. Coffee has more caffeine content and drinking tea along with it can only exacerbate the effects but we can't say the same if people drink only green tea. People may have to drink maybe more than three or four cups of green tea to equal the caffeine consumption two cups of coffee would provide. But the study doesn't mention this and hence the argument can be weakened as it lacks concrete evidence to back its claim.

Secondly, the prompt broadly assumes that everyone should limit their intake of green tea to just two cups. This includes adults, children and most importantly, coffee and non-coffee drinkers. This cannot be the case as every individual is different and will have a different reaction to caffeine, that is, some may be more sensitive whereas others may be able to consume higher amounts and still have no symptoms. The prompt fails to provide solid evidence regarding this and its conclusion can be weakened.

In conclusion, the author's argument misses out on some key factors to render the argument valid. The assumptions can prove warranted if the argument provides clear details regarding its study and how it was conducted. It should include coffee and non-coffee drinkers and consider people of all age groups before determining the amount of tea to be consumed.