The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

The art of teaching is a wholesome process which includes looking at all aspects of the person being taught which includes positives as well as negatives. One can only improve if he/she makes

a mistake and is taught not to make the same mistake again. So, I believe that teaching should not only praise positive actions but also give significant importance to the negative ones

so that they are not repeated.

A simple example would be an invigilator ignoring a child who is cheating during a test. If the child is not corrected of his mistake, he may do it again oblivious of the fact that it is not right. But, if the child is corrected then and there aided by a small punishment, he is likely to remember it and refrain from doing so again. A kid who will be praised for his good deeds and at the same time criticized and corrected for his bad ones will ultimately become a better person in the long run.

Another probable example would be of an amateur racing driver who is moving up the ladder in his career showing real progress. Suppose, it's the last race of the championship and he needs

to secure a podium to win the championship, but he's unable to do so and desperation kicks in at the last lap of the race where he is unable to supersede the car in the third place and begins

making dangerous moves and ultimately puts the other driver out of the race. If the stewards knowingly ignore his rash driving and award him the podium since he's been exceptional so far by calling it a 'racing incident' is not doing any justice to the sport. The driver could get a sense of smug satisfaction winning races being overly aggressive and will be likely to do it again

putting other drivers and himself in danger having the notion that he can get away with it like the last time. This is definitely not good for the driver nor is it for the sport.

If he's instead disqualified or penalized for aggressive driving, he will always remember it and this will only motivate him to work harder and race fairer in the future which can take him

to new heights in his career.

The above examples are evidence that teaching should appreciate the positive actions of an individual but also correct the negative ones to make him/her not repeat the same mistake again.