Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A scandal is by no means a good thing. A person involved in a scandal can have his image tarnished for life. The effect will be exacerbated if he's a public figure or in a high position. But scandals, as they come, can make us aware of unexpected situations that could arise and keep us informed and better prepared if similar events occur in the future. So, although I do agree that a scandal is a devious act, I believe we can derive some positives from it.

Carlos Goshen is a prime example of what being involved in a scandal can do to a person. He was a highly acclaimed and revered CEO of Nissan who strategically revived the company from bankruptcy in the 90s. He not only saved the company but also made it profitable and a global giant by forging an alliance with Renault. This made Nissan the second largest producer of automobiles in Japan after Toyota. But his recent scandal of furtively using the company's profits for his personal benefit has put him behind bars and has had his title as CEO stripped. All his hard work and accomplishments have been wiped out in a blink due to his devious acts. Now, although his schemes were ultimately brought to light, this can influence people to think of short ways to achieve success. It may not be in such a large scale but having read how Carlos managed to deceive the management for so many years (his despicable acts described in detail in newspapers and broadcasted in news channels worldwide) some people can be enticed to perform similar crimes albeit make sure not to fault like him. Likewise, people thinking that they can get away with a scandal without repeating the mistake can only lead to more scandals.

On the contrary, Nissan having unearthed such a scandal can now be more cautious and can impose stricter laws to observe the activities of their new CEO. This applies to other firms too. Another example is that if a person is caught producing spurious currency, the government can make the currency harder to duplicate in order to prevent future scams as such. This can benefit the economy in the long run. If not for this scandal, the government could've been complacent with the security of the nation's currency and not bothered to have bought updates for a prolonged duration. So, sometimes a scandal can bring about an effective change in the system, which no reformer or speaker could

have.

In conclusion, it is important for us to distinguish the good from the bad in a scandal and better prepare ourselves for the future. Doing so, can not only prevent future shams but will also enable us to suspect such events before it burgeons.