The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

We learn that the Mayor of Briggsville plans to build a multi million dollar subway system to combat the traffic congestion which he believes will benefit the economy since people will spend less time in traffic and be more productive. The Mayor's conclusion has some evidence to back his claim but does fall short of sufficient evidence in order to justify that a multi million dollar subway system will be effective.

The first false assumption Mayor Harrison makes is to believe without further proof that the majority if not all will use the subway system. People commuting to work in Briggsville may prefer to use their own cars depending on their work location because using the subway may involve some amount of additional travel to get to their workplace. If this is the case, private seems to be the more convenient option. This serves to undermine the Mayor's conclusion. If he wants to prove his assumptions warranted, the Mayor will have to conduct a widespread survey to determine the success of the subway system before splurging millions of dollars on a project which may or may not take off.

Next, just because the downtown residents are disgruntled with the sub-par bus network, doesn't mean they don't prefer taking the bus. If the residents prefer the bus network to be improved and made safer rather than building a subway system, Harrison's conclusion can be called into question. Therefore Mayor Harrison should take this into account before implementing the plan.

And finally, the biggest assumption Mayor Harrison makes is that the subway system will be a success and he can recover the enormous amount of money spent on the project. But will it? There are a couple of key factors to be considered to fully evaluate the conclusion. Is it really necessary to keep the subway running twenty four hours? Will people actually use it that late in the night or early in the morning? What will be the costs of running it round the clock? Will the revenue generated be enough to keep the subway system operational throughout? If not, Mayor Harrison Smith's assumptions prove unwarranted.

Although the Mayor has come with a plan to resolve the traffic issue, his conclusion lacks sufficient evidence to warrant his assumptions. If the Mayor can confirm that there is demand for the subway system, people will prefer this over other means of transport and most importantly, use it after work hours and the revenue generated can be used to recover the money spent, then the assumptions will not only hold true but also be convincing.