The following appeared in an article written by Dr.Karp, an anthropologist

An interview centered approach can be more exact than an observational one since one gets to actively interact with the subject. The former method can bring to light the subject's

thoughts and experiences and not basing the findings on assumptions derived from observations. There's a lot of ambiguity lying in observing a person's actions to actually interacting with the person to prove his/her action. That being said, Dr.Karp completely dismissing Dr. Field's method as inaccurate in favor of his is devoid of some evidence.

Dr.Field specifically observed only the children of Tertia and concluded that the children were raised by the entire village and not only by their biological parents. On the contrary, Dr. Karp

interviewed more than just the children of Tertia. So we can't know what practices will be followed in the neighboring islands compared to the village Tertia. He could have interviewed

more children from other villages where they could actually be reared by their biological parents. And since no observation was conducted to study their lifestyle, Dr.Karp could be basing

his conclusion on assumptions drawn from the interview.

Secondly, Just because the children talk more about their biological parents doesn't necessarily mean that the other members of the village had no part in bringing them up. It is a natural

phenomenon for children to be biased towards and talk more about their own parents than anybody else. The lack of observation is once again leading to assumptions.

The missing evidence provided above tends to question the author's claims. In conclusion, I believe that a combination of both methods will yield accurate results for the study.