In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores

While it may be true that in order to face the current problem, a decline in profit, the video rental stores must reduce their operating cost, this argument is not coherent enough to make this claim persuasive.

Primarily, the argument assumes a special condition that is true for a certain area is similarly applicable for all areas, and thus generalizes the condition. However, it may be true that the store in downtown Marston took its decision to close store at 6.00 PM because from past experience it observed that no purchase occur after 6 PM and if the store is kept open after 6 PM, it is nothing but increase in operating cost without any profit. The working hour of the people in that location may be the driving factor behind this scenario; people their usually do not go out after 6 PM and like to stay in their home and thus the store took its decision to close the store after 6 PM. On the other hand, it may happen that the stores are located in busy area where people usually come to stores after 6 PM and they continue their shopping till midnight and the decision of closing stores at 6 PM will hurt the stores. Had the argument stated that all the areas in which the stores are located are of similar condition and have the same experience of pick hour selling, only then it would be easy to accept the decision to close all stores at 6PM .

Secondly, even if it is true that all the stores experience similar pick hour sell, the argument does not state categorically that store at Marston, since its decision to close store at 6PM, is making profit. On the other hand, the argument simply states that a decision has been taken but we do not even know the outcome of that decision to accept the conclusion of the argument. It may happen that after taking the decision that particular store experienced a rapid decline in sell rather than profit.

Thirdly, the argument states that Marston store removed all movies released more than five years ago to reduce the operating cost. It may be the scenario that, people there only prefer recent movies and they do not like to enjoy movies which are obsolete. But, on the other hand, the people where the stores are located may be such that, they prefer obsolete movies; they used to enjoy movies several decades old and usually avoid recent movies. So, before taking further decision we need to appraise the taste of the people where other stores are located.

In last, the argument assumes that in order to increase profit, there is only one way-reduce the operating cost. However, it may be true that profit is declining because of the recent recession: the people of the areas in which stores are located are struggling in terms of their economic condition and they are now not inclined to spend money after movies. So, reduction of operating cost is not going to help the stores.

The argument is flawed for numerous unwarranted assumptions and some questions must be answered in order to consider it as a cogent one, otherwise not.