When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Communication between classmates or colleagues is essential for successful completion of a project work. Even though introduction of internet has enabled us to use e-mail to communicate with our group members while accomplishing a task, in person communication, still, helps us to perform a job more efficiently.

To begin with, emotional attachment between the group members is an important element which helps to perform a task with greater efficiency. Whether doing a class assignment or doing an official work, we need to consider the other group members as our family; this bondage among us helps to understand each other by enabling us to aware of the limitations and strengths of our other group members. By working as a family facilitates us to accomplish the task in hand more efficiently. For instance, few years ago I had to do a group project in my university for my environmental engineering course; we needed to do survey on our local restaurants about their sanitation facilities and submit a report accompanied by a group presentation on our survey. We, the group members, sat together to discuss about the task and understand our individual responsibilities. We acted like members of a family and at first analyzed the strength and weakness of each of us, and accordingly we distributed the task among us. While doing the task we regularly used to gather together to check our progress. When some of us failed to perform a job, other members of the group helped to do the job. This type of bonding of us helped to make a good report and presentation, and eventually all of us earned good credit. Without personal attachment it was not possible for us to do the assignment nicely.

Secondly, communicating with other group members helps to perform a job faster as we do not have to wait for the response of other group members which is the main drawback of emailing. While doing an official task, if we depend of email for performing task, then it would happen that we are waiting for the feedback of other group members, which is very frustrating and time consuming. Instead, if we meet together and discuss the job, it would assist us to perform the task in hand faster which is beneficial for the company. For example, if a group project require that one cannot complete a task without the response of other member, them it would happen that he have to wait until the other members go online and see his email and then reply. Meanwhile, this problem can easily be eliminated by attending in a place and co-relating with each other personally. Then there will be no time waste as well as there will be no misunderstanding also which is essential to perform a job being in a group.

In conclusion, to accomplish a group project smoothly and efficiently, we need to communicate with each other personally. This will help to increase the bonding among the group members and perform a job faster.