Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

A cogent argument about any controversial topic is useful to change the core belief of people having contrasting views on that topic.

In this material world thousands about varieties of people live on. Some are docile: easily persuaded while there are some who are not easily deflected from their core belief, the dogmatic one. Those of later quality usually do not want to accept any argument against their core belief; moreover, they want to make convince others to accept their wrong, maybe, belief. However, even rock like people are amenable to cogent argument. Indeed, if the argument placed against them has potential to persuade them, there is no way to avoid yielding. History is inundated with such examples of yielding of dogmatic people when they were confronted with contrasting views having sufficient quality to make them convinced. For instance, the people of Saudi Arabia at early 500 AC worth mentioning. Reverence to simulacrum was their tradition and they maintained that sculpt will help them in their hard times, they revered those creation of them as their God. However, Muhammad, the light bearer, when confronted with such wrong belief tried to disabuse them. The cogent argument of Muhammad along side with hard evidence was enough to remove the darkness of mind of those benighted people. So, a cogent argument was enough to persuade them and to change their core belief.

Earth is flat or not? Another controversial topic. The believers of flat earth try to convince the believer of opposite belief but the thing which make them failed is their depth of argument. In this modern era, people are not amenable to mere argument they want proof but those having flat earth belief have no such cogent enough proof and as a result they have failed so far. However, it is not that the round earth believers are dogmatic which can be attributed for this, it is the lack of hard evidence which frustrated the effort of flat earth believer.

Long ago, people used to believe light spreads from the eye and thereby, we can see. However, today we know the mechanism of visualizing and people no more has that wrong belief. But, in order to change the core belief of the past people scientist had to aggregate evidence by working assiduously. Scientific proof and cogent argument was enough to change the wrong belief of people living in the past.

However, their are exceptional in any case. The earth also contains such people who never want to cede, even daylight is not enough to persuade them that the night is over. But their proportion is not large enough because by cogent argument most of the dogmatic people are proselytized but those certain ones. Maybe it is true that even more cogent argument will help to persuade them and people having contrasting views should try until that point and should not give up.

An cogent argument having hard proof is useful to change the core belief of the people having contrasting views.