The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority

A society, in which the mass people can quesntion the authority, is well improved compared to a society in which the authority practices autocratic power. So, in order to ensure the well-being of a society people should question authority.

In democratic world mass people are the source of every power: fate of the society depends on their judgment and control on the authority or government. If the authority feel bound to the people, then there is not much enough space available for the authority to do any wrong thing. Because, any fault thing the authority will do, the people of the society are going to raise their voice against it and challenge the authority. So, the authority performs its job with utmost sincerity and integrity with an aim to improve the condition of the society.

For example, recently in Bangladesh the city water supply system authority, locally known as Dhaka WASA, was subjected to vehement outcry of people because of its statement that they serve pure drinking water to the city people. Hearing their statement the city people challenged them with proof of polluted water and questioned their performance. Eventually, the authority of WASA realized their fault and are now trying with greater sincerity to ensure supply of pure drinking water, a basic need of mass people. So, in this case if the authority were autocratic and not bound to the people, then there would not show any tendency to improve the water quality and ultimately it is the society which would be the sufferer.

Quota system, an extremely unwarranted system, has been recently uprooted from Bangladesh. This system requires that 30% of national job sector will be preserved for certain portion of the society which prevented the meritorious students from getting job and created a social disruption. Mass people, gathered together against this rule and challenged the government to change this rule. Eventually, the government ceded to the people and was forced to change the rule which is badly required for the improvement of socio-economic condition of the general people. So, if the people had no say about the government's performance, then ultimately those very people of the society would be the sufferer.

Venality is a common problem for any authoisty which is not bound to answer for its performance. However, if the people of the society have that power to question the authority for everything, then the authority will not involve themselves in any kind of corruption and the betterment of the society thus be ensured.

However, it is very important to ensure that the people which are questioning are the one who want the betterment of the society and are the patriot one. Because, in every society there are certain portion of people who are against the current authority and find faults in every project taken by the authority whether good or bad. So, if it appears that the mass people are questioning and they are the ones who love their country and the society, only then questioning the government or authority for its performance would be effective and the betterment of the society would be ensured otherwise not.

A society in which the mass people involve themselves in questioning the activity of the authority is sure to improve in each and every sector compared to the society in which the people have no say against the authority.