The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

The argument is flawed for numerous unwarranted assumptions. Primarily, the argument compared overall grades of the students of the two high school but the survey on which the conclusion of the argument entirely depends on was conducted on only math and science teachers, and hence not cogent enough.

The argument says that Sanlee High school's math and science teachers assign homeworks daily whereas teachers of science and math of Marlee assign homework only two or three days. It may be possible that because of this study pressure from Sanlee high school's math and science teacher the students of that school always secure perfect math and science score but the students of Marlee earn average scores in math and science. However, overall grade does not depend only on math and science; there are other subjects also. But, teachers of those subjects of Sanlee school do not assign daily homework and because of this fact students of the school struggles to get a good grade in those subjects which affects the overall grades of them. Had the argument made its position clear that the other subjects do not have any impact on the overall grade and only math and science related subjects are responsible for the grading of the students only than the conclusion of the argument can be considered valid.

However, even then the argument needs to prove that the quality of faculty of both the institutions are same; there may be a possibility that the faculty of Marlee are excellent and the teach in such a way that student need not to do much work at home, classroom study is enough for them. On the other hand, the poor quality of teaching of Sanlee school's teachers require student to do much homework. If this is true, then only considering intensity of homework we cannot conclude that assigning homeworks only twice a week would be enough for other school.

Again, this may also be true that the students of Sanlee are below average in terms of merit and sincerity. Though they are assigned homeworks daily, they do not do it diligently and do not submit it two their teachers which is the cause behind their overall poor grading. On the other hand, students of Marlee are special and they do everything sincerely and submit homeworks regularly. So, the argument only discuss about assigning homework but does not tell us anything about the submission of homework. Had the argument made its position clear that both of the schools have students of same quality and are equally sincere about there homework only than the argument would be persuasive enough.

There is also enough possibility that though Marlee school does not assign homework daily but students of that school crowd nearby coaching centers where they get additional teaching from the teachers of the coaching centers and this fact is behind there great success and if it is true the argument would be invalid.

The argument depends upon numerous unwarranted assumptions and those assumptions prevent the argument from being cogent enough.