Last year, the number of visits to our local beach in Bridge Bay was 50 percent lower

than the year before. Early last year we ended our contract with Arko Trash Collection, a

company that had serviced local garbage collection for the past twenty years. We switched

at that time to Satellite Waste Corporation, another trash collection company. In nearby

Ocean Harbor, where Arko has continued to provide garbage collection, the beaches are

experiencing record levels of attendance. Meanwhile, in Bridge Bay, complaints about

garbage on our beach have increased this year. Clearly, inadequate garbage collection on

our beach by Satellite has led to the significant drop in visitors. Therefore, in order to

restore visitor numbers to our local beach, we recommend resuming our contract with

Arko as soon as possible

The argument is not cogent enough because of some unwarranted assumptions. Primarily, the argument assumes one particular cause for the declination in attendance in Bridge Bay and has not analyzed other factors which can also affect the downfall, and hence not valid.

The argument imputed poor garbage collection system of Satellite to the declination of attendance in Bridge. However, it may be possible that the previous year people had many long vacations and during those times all of the beaches in that area had an increased attendance. But this year the number of long vacation has decreased and the workload of mass people has increased which results in the declination of attendance in all the beaches not just Bridge. There is also a strong possibility that the average cost required to travel has increased this year and hence people are not willing to spend their money after recreation. The prices of hotels nearby the beaches might also increase which may be a cause of declination in attendance. While people travel they use to take food several times and they enjoy seafood. However, it is possible that this year the price of seafood has been tripled and people read the news published in the national daily which made them reluctant to visit the beaches, not just Bridge. There is also a strong possibility that a major national daily and a television channel has published their report on the increased level of crime near the beaches which might have cowed the traveler and the attendance in all of the beaches have decreased. Had the argument placed strong evidence that the all the other factors controlling the attendance have remained unchanged only than the argument's concern about the decrease in attendance would become more acceptable.

Secondly, the argument states that the nearby Ocean Harbor are experiencing record level of attendance and this is for the fact that Arko company has continued to provide garbage collection there. But it may happen that this year Ocean Harbor has added some new attraction for the visitors: they probably added marine drive facility which is not available in the other beaches at that area. The foods available in Ocean Harbor beach may be fresh and good alongside cheap compared to the foods of Bridge. This may also be true that the road to go to bridge has become bad and the transportation facility to go there has become bad which forces the visitors to go to Ocean which has a good transportation facility and is very near the regional airport. All these facts have made the visitor to go to Ocean not only the garbage factor.

However, it may be also true to the garbage level on the beach is quite similar to the previous year but the people visiting the beach this year are habitually complaining. People who visited this place previously may have not placed any complain because they were tolerable.

The argument is flawed for numerous unwarranted assumptions.