The following is a recommendation from the city manager of Bridge Bay.

"Last year, the number of visits to our local beach in Bridge Bay was 50 percent lower than the year before. Early last year we ended our contract with Arko Trash Collection, a company that had serviced local garbage collection for the past twenty years. We switched at that time to Satellite Waste Corporation, another trash collection company. In nearby Ocean Harbor, where Arko has continued to provide garbage collection, the beaches are experiencing record levels of attendance. Meanwhile, in Bridge Bay, complaints about garbage on our beach have increased this year. Clearly, inadequate garbage collection on our beach by Satellite has led to the significant drop in visitors. Therefore, in order to restore visitor numbers to our local beach, we recommend resuming our contract with Arko as soon as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that resuming the contract with Arko Trash Collection would restore visitor numbers at Bridge Bay Beach. The main evidence is that Ocean Habor a current client of arko Trash collection has been experiencing record levels of attendance. At first glance this might sound true but the author failed to answer some questions and back it with evidence.Instead, its based on logical flaw, missing evidence and leaps of logic.

The main reason for rejecting this argument is the logical flaw behind it: the fact Bridge Bay experienced 50% decrease in attendance while Ocean Habor is experiencing record high attendance cannot be attributed to Arko Trash collection still working for them. There are possible explanations such as those two statistics might have been taken in different seasons - the record high attendance of Ocean Habor might be on a suitable beach temperature season whilst the Bridge Bay might be in a winter season where people do not fancy going to the beach because of the cold weather.

Another reason for rejecting this argument is the missing evidence : The fact that Bridge Bay beach changed their trash collection company does not have a correlation in the drop in visits. An alternative reason might be Ocean Habor is much popular than Bridge Bay Beach - and thus people prefer their beach more. Another reason is that Bridge Bay Beach has a higher population and its always over crowded , so most clients do not feel comfortable relaxing there.Addressing these questions and finding the right evidence and statistics would make the authors recommendation more reasonable.

Moreover the author makes a very good point : the fact that the increase in garbage complains at the Bridge Bay beach is a factor to reduction in their visitation. Well its no secret that people prefer to visit much cleaner beaches - that where they can relax well. The author should have a survey at other beaches the Arko Trash collection company works for. This would aid the authors recommenation.

In conclusion, although Satellite Waste company has not done a good job with the garbage at their beach. They should look at other factors that contribute to that. Maybe the clients that visit the beach make lots of dirt that the company can not handle. As it stands now there are many unanswered questions that the author should consider before contracting the Arko Trash collecction again.