The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County

Citing the general argument of the Maple county council, that the county is becoming over developed and is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmlands in the county. The council makes an assertion that it would directly increase the cost of housing. However their argument relies on unproven assumptions and is therefore unconvincing.

To begin with, the argument makes an assertion that the proponents of Chestnut County after establishing a similar measure had its housing prices increase modestly. The mere fact that stopping development in the county would lead to increase in housing prices makes the argument very weak. Without better evidence the council is comparing their county to that of chestnut. Opponents of the council gave an example that pine county had their housing rate doubled after introducing such restrictions.

Making the debate that Maple County is being over developed and which in turn will prevent the development of existing farmlands is a wasteful agenda. The clear notion behind development of a county is to bring lots of opportunities into the county, which in turn reduces housing cost. Citizens directly and indirectly benefit from development. A stronger argument would have being to say the council is thinking of preserving some farmlands, so our agricultural deposits are not exhausted.

In sum, the argument relies on the concern of Maple County being over developed. The writer to mention the effects of the overdevelopment on the county. A stronger argument would have being, stating the negative effects of the overdevelopment on the county. The writer even said restricting the development would increase cost of housing. Even with additional evidence to support the councils debate regulating the development is much beneficial.